The Beauty in Life

Character Actress

I act like a character of a girl I can imagine, a girl whose life is like mine.

She is a piece of walking art, something observed and considered and pawned into one story or another, like a replaceable image of something claimed to be unique.

Iā€™ve heard it said, ā€œremember that he does not think about your artā€. And I donā€™t have the naivety to believe that men care about my art outside of caring for my attention, saying the rights things to arrive at their desired outcome.

A man I liked very much looked at my drawings and paintings and told me he had never seen anything like them, that I should do something real and big with my work. That was the last time I saw him.

But what if I am my art?

The way I walk, talk and appear, the things that I do, that is my greatest artistic undertaking. Art in the tradition sense comes from the parts that my being canā€™t hold.

The character I live as is a figment of my imagination, someone constructed from my visions of other lifetimes and bits and pieces of cultural artifacts. Whatever Iā€™m doing, itā€™s a thing thatā€™s both intentional and cluttered with blurred edges. I feel so young these days and I revel in it.

I listen to music and always believe that I am the girl in the song. ā€œHe would always laugh and say, remember how we used to play (Bang Bang)ā€

Art about women is art about myself in my mind because I am a woman and I am art.

I eat my lunch in the square and look at the trees swaying and see a man dancing alone without music. He gets it. Life is the greatest art form.